workshops etc.
internet guide
find people
about us
contact us

Teaching Links
subscribe to the Wabash Center e-newsletter.

send feedback
Wabash College
Wabash Center programs are funded by Lilly Endowment Inc.

view photos >>

Related Links

Group Photo


Pre-Conference Assignment

Wabash Center's Online Course for Theological Faculty Teaching Online

University of Wisconsin-Madison’s Distance Education Certificate Program

2009 Conference
Reflecting on the Pedagogy of Online Theological Education

Dates: October 9-11, 2009 - IUPUI Indianapolis, IN

From 2006 through 2008 82 faculty members from 66 theological schools enrolled in the Wabash Center’s online course for theological school faculty teaching online (offered through the University of Wisconsin’s Distance Education Certificate Program).

This conference was an opportunity to take stock, and articulate what we have learned about the challenges and opportunities of teaching online.

We gathered some alumni from the three summer's online courses, together with leading innovators in the field and other stakeholders, to reflect upon the nature of online pedagogy and the teaching and learning outcomes associated with it.

What are we learning about online education and what do we see as its future?

What aspects of online education create pedagogical differences?

How does ministerial formation evolve through online learning?

What are the implicit habit and skills that are taught in online learning?

What is being learned when a course is offered online?

Goals of the Conference
  • Individuals will have shared practices and questions which each will subsequently engage in their home context;
  • Essential teaching and learning questions will have been framed;
  • The conference will have contributed to the development of a community of reflective practioners of online teaching and learning.

Leadership team
Mary Hess, Luther Seminary
Richard Nysse, Luther Seminary
Dan Ulrich, Bethany Theological Seminary
Nadine Pence, Wabash Center
Thomas Pearson, Wabash Center
Paul Myhre, Wabash Center

Conference Participants
C. Colt Anderson, Washington Theological Union
Kathy Dawson, Columbia Theological Seminary
Stephen Delamarter, George Fox Evangelical
Elizabeth Drescher, Center for Anglican Learning & Leadership
Robert Freeman, Fuller Theological Seminary
Darwin Glassford, Calvin Theological Seminary
Peter Gräbe, Regent University School of Divinity
Robert Hale, Asbury Theological Seminary
Barry Hamilton, Northeastern Seminary at Roberts Wesleyan College
Tara Hornbacker, Bethany Theological Seminary
David Johns, Earlham School of Religion
Masego Kebaetse, Palmer Theological Seminary
Barbara Anne Keely, United Theological Seminary of Twin Cities
Cindy Kissel-Ito, Union-PSCE
Kristine Lund, Waterloo Lutheran Seminary
Julie Lytle, Episcopal Divinity School
Michael Matlock, Asbury Theological Seminary
Cameron Murchison, Columbia Theological Seminary
Robert O’Gorman, Loyola University Chicago
Barbara Radtke, Boston College
Tim Sensing, Abilene Christian University
Jerry Skira, Regis College
Dennis Smith, Phillips Theological Seminary
Gregory Sobolewski, Saint Mary's University of Minnesota
Julia Speller, Chicago Theological Seminary
Jennifer Woodruff, Tait Huntington University
Vickie Taylor, Ashland Theological Seminary
George Thompson, Interdenominational Theological Center
Melinda Thompson, University of Dubuque Theological Seminary
Sr. Angela Ann Zukowski, University of Dayton

Thomas Pearson
Associate Director of the Wabash Center

Wabash Center 301 W. Wabash Avenue Crawfordsville, Indiana 47933 wabashcenter@wabash.edu
(765)361-6047 phone (800) 655-7117 toll-free (765)361-6051 fax

Home | Grants | Programs | Consultants | Resources | Journal | Blogs | Find People | About Us | Contact Us
Sign-up for E-mail Newsletter | Send Feedback | Help/FAQ | Wabash College | Lilly Endowment | Privacy Policy

© 2014 Wabash Center. All Rights Reserved.
My Wabash