Progression and Character of Wisdom Literature.

Categories of Wisdom Literature in chronological order

Practical Wisdom (dating from around the time of Solomon -1000 BCE- onwards)
Biblical Book - Proverbs
Typical Values - Propriety and enlightened self-interest. Correct ethical behavior is the means to material success. Labor and learning, self- discipline and moderation, honesty, righteousness, humility, charity, chastity, obedience to Yahweh will result in happiness and well-being. Eg. (Proverbs 11:17) (simple optimism. The lack of emphasis on the history of Israel should be noted.)
Literary Form - Simple,"catchy" sayings. (Note the influence of Egyptian and Babylonian Wisdom literature.)

Theological/Philosophical Wisdom
Biblical Books - Proverbs, Job
Typical Values - The value of Wisdom itself, which is personified as the ultimately desirable and worthy woman and as a cosmic principle by which Yahweh founded his creation. Egs. Prov 3:19-20, 8:22), (the simplicity of practical wisdom is questioned)
Literary Form - longer and more refined.

Skeptical Wisdom
Biblical Books - Job, Ecclesiastes
Typical Values - The values of wisdom, faith, patience, charity and obedience to Yahweh are still commended (Ecclesiastes 11:1,13) although the simple understanding that they will bring earthly reward is refuted. The limits of human wisdom are emphasized. (Job 38:4-5, Ecclesiastes. 3:21).
Literary Form - longer and more refined.