1999-01 Practices of Ministry

1999-2001 Colloquy on Teaching The Practices of Ministry

JJune 2-6, 1999 – First Summer Session at Wabash College
June 7-11, 2000 – Second Session at Wabash College
June 6-10, 2001 – Third Session at Wabash College

Leadership Team
Herbert Anderson, Catholic Theological Union
Lucinda Huffaker, Wabash Center

The Wabash Center convened a Consultation on Teaching the Practices of Ministry to consider the goals, content, and methods of teaching the traditional disciplines of pastoral ministry: worship/liturgy, pastoral care, religious education, preaching, and church administration and leadership.


  • to examine the possibilities and complexities of teaching and learning for the practices of pastoral ministry in seminary and theological school contexts
  • to discover commonalities and differences of pedagogy among the traditional disciplines of pastoral ministry
  • to explore the pedagogical implications of the changing contexts and shifting foci for the practice of pastoral ministry in a congregational setting
  • to consider the implications of pastoral and spiritual formation for preparing people in the practices of pastoral ministry
  • to create a collegial context in which we might sustain a rich discussion and develop resources
  • to advance new directions in teaching and learning the practices of ministry

Front row (left to right):  Pamela Couture (Colgate Rochester Divinity School), *Herbert Anderson (Catholic Theological Union), Edward Foley (Catholic Theological Union), Jean Stairs (Queen’s Theological College), Virstan Choy (San Francisco Theological Seminary). 

Second row: Sharon Burch (Boston University), Nancy Eiesland (Candler School of Theology), DanielSchipani (Associated Mennonite Biblical Seminary), *Lucinda Huffaker (Wabash Center). 

Third row: Michael Jinkins ( Austin Presbyterian Theological Seminary), Connie Kleingartner (Lutheran School of Theology at Chicago), K. Samuel Lee (Wesley Theological Seminary), James Nieman (Wartburg Theological Seminary), Fred Holper (McCormick Theological Seminary), Christie Neuger (United Theological Seminary of Twin Cities).

Not pictured: Anne Wimblerly (Interdenominational Theological Center).


Wabash Center