2009-10 Colloquy on Writing

2009-2010 Colloquy on: Writing the Scholarship of Teaching in Theology and Religion

September 25-28, 2009 – First Session at Wabash College
March 5-7, 2010 -Second Session at Wabash College

Leadership Team
Patricia O’Connell Killen, Pacific Lutheran University
Eugene V. Gallagher, Connecticut College
Thomas Pearson, Wabash Center Facilitator

The Wabash Center is sponsoring a colloquy on the scholarship of teaching and learning to cultivate this scholarship among teachers of religion and theology in colleges, universities, seminaries and divinity schools. The colloquy will gather a small group of experienced and critically reflective teachers for a year-long process of writing and conversation about writing the scholarship of teaching and learning. The colloquy involves two weekends and assignments between the sessions.

Participants will work on their own article length manuscript through the course of the colloquy year, engage in peer review, and converse about writing this genre. The colloquy is designed with the intention that each participant will produce a publishable essay in the scholarship of teaching and learning in theology and religion.


  • Provide a supportive context within which participants develop and produce publishable work in the scholarship of teaching in theology and religion
  • Facilitate reflection on writing the scholarship of teaching and learning in theology and religion that helps to articulate general characteristics of quality and to refine forms of the genre.
  • Identify strategies that will support the production of high quality scholarship of teaching and learning.
  • Increase the number of persons in the field who are conversant with the scholarship of teaching and learning in theology and religion as well as the broader scholarship on teaching and learning.

Michel Andraos, Catholic Theological Union
Alicia Batten, University of Sudbury
Kathryn Blanchard, Alma College
Ann Burlein, Hofstra University
Daniel Deffenbaugh, Hastings College
Carol Duncan, Wilfrid Laurier University
Rolf Jacobson, Luther Seminary
Davina Lopez, Eckerd College
Todd Penner, Austin College
Tina Pippin, Agnes Scott College
Robert Royalty, Wabash College

Participants will receive a stipend of $1500 for full participation in both sessions, plus local expenses and travel.

Participants will receive an additional stipend of $500 for submission of an article manuscript on teaching to either Teaching Theology and Religion or some other appropriate academic journal, by January 1, 2011.

Please Note U.S. Law prohibits the Wabash Center from paying stipends to participants with certain classes of foreign national status. The Wabash Center is, however, able to reimburse ALL participants for travel and other expenses.

Read More (click here)

Immigration status has no bearing on the Wabash Center’s selection of participants. It impacts only our ability to pay these participants a stipend.

We deeply regret these restrictions but are confident that participants who are not eligible for a stipend will nonetheless find our programs valuable even without a stipend.


  • Teaching in a tenure-stream or other continuing position in an accredited seminary or theological school in the United States or Canada, or in an undergraduate theology, religious studies or religion department or program in an accredited college or university in the United States or Canada
  • Ph.D/Th/D. in hand at the time of application
  • Commitment to full participation, from the beginning to ending date and time for the two workshop sessions

Read our Policy on Full Participation (click here)

Front Row (left to right): Rolf Jacobson (Luther Seminary), Michel Andraos (Catholic Theological Union), Todd Penner (Austin College), Tina Pippin (Agnes Scott College).  

Second Row: Carol Duncan (Wilfrid Laurier University), Robert Royalty (Wabash College), Davina Lopez (Eckerd College), *Patricia O’Connell Killen (Pacific Lutheran University), Ann Burlein (Hofstra University), Kathryn Blanchard (Alma College). 

Third Row:  *Thomas Pearson (Wabash Center), Alicia Batten (University of Sudbury), *Eugene Gallagher (Connecticut College), Daniel Deffenbaugh (Hastings College).

*leadership/staff position.

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!