Doctoral Student Seminar

Doctoral Student Seminar – Chicago

  • Session 1: October 22, 2016, 11:30 am – 7:00 pm
  • Session 2: February 4, 2017, 11:30 am – 7:00 pm
  • Session 3: March 4, 2017, 11:30 am – 7:00 pm

The Wabash Center conducts Teaching Seminars for Doctoral Students in U.S. cities with significant numbers of doctoral programs in theological and religious studies. These seminars feature conversations about teaching facilitated by two Wabash Consultants.


To contribute to the formation of future teachers by guiding doctoral students in conversations about teaching, both in general and in specifics including:

  • Critically reflective teaching
  • Design of learning experiences
  • Teaching contexts
  • Issues of diversity in the classroom

The seminars also provide an opportunity to acquaint doctoral students with the Wabash Center and its resources so they can take advantage of the Wabash Center’s fuller programming when they have teaching appointments. In addition, doctoral students will discover ways to build networks of support and conversation across institutions.

Leadership for Chicago Doctoral Teaching Seminar:

  • Eugene Gallagher, Connecticut College
  • Lynne Westfield, Drew Theological School


Front Row: Heesung Hwang (Garrett-Evangelical Theological Seminary), William Andrews (Chicago Theological Seminary), Candace Laughinghouse (Chicago Theological Seminary).

 Second Row: Ann Ridge (Chicago Theological Seminary), Wei-Jen Chen (Chicago Theological Seminary), Melanie Jones (Chicago Theological Seminary), Karen Ross (Loyola University Chicago), Jerrolyn Eulinberg (Chicago Theological Seminary), Wendy Crosby (Loyola University Chicago), Malene Johnson (Chicago Theological Seminary).

Third Row: Joao Aquino (Trinity Evangelical Divinity School), Jawad Qureshi (American Islamic College), *Gene Gallagher (Connecticut College), Teresa Smallwood (Chicago Theological Seminary), Jon Phillips (Chicago Theological Seminary), Kyle Potter (Marquette University), Devin O’Rourke (University of Chicago Divinity School), *Lynne Westfield (Drew Theological School).

Fourth Row: Russell Johnson (University of Chicago Divinity School), Carl Rabbe (Garrett-Evangelical Theological School), Emily Crews (University of Chicago Divinity School), Daniel Cole (Trinity Evangelical Divinity School).

Not pictured: *Mary Stimming (Wabash Center).

*leadership/staff position.


Read more about the Preparing Future Faculty Program

More information:
Mary T. Stimming, PhD
Associate Director for Special Programs

Participants receive a $500 honorarium for full attendance.

Sign up for our Teaching Links e-newsletter to receive timely announcement of Wabash Center programs.


Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!