2018-19 Early Career Workshop

Workshop for Early Career Theological School Faculty 

This workshop invites those in their first years of teaching in theological schools to join a community of generosity and hospitality that responds to early career professional and vocational development. Together they will:

  • Wrestle with generative questions about teaching and learning
  • Learn how to live a life of the mind without losing one’s mind
  • Discover ways to engage institutional and cultural realities that are liberative and life-giving
  • Imagine teaching that constructively engages and transforms the larger world through creative thinking and risk-taking

The workshop will gather 14 faculty members for a week in two successive summers at Wabash College, and a weekend winter retreat in a warm location. There will be a balance of plenaries, small group discussions, workshops, social time, and opportunities for relaxation, exercise, laughter, and lots of good food and drink.


Participants will join a collaborative cohort in which they will:

  • Reflect critically on processes of learning that foster intellectual curiosity
  • Discover ways to sustain practices of teaching and learning with passion
  • Understand and navigate institutional cultures
  • Explore deepest convictions about teaching and learning in theological schools

Honorarium and Fellowship

Participants will receive an honorarium of $3400 for full participation in the three workshop sessions, plus local expenses and travel. In addition, participants are eligible to apply for a $5000 workshop fellowship for work on a teaching project during the following academic year (2019-20).


Front Row: Paul Monson (Sacred Heart Seminary and School of Theology), Rebecca Esterson (Graduate Theological Union), *Rolf A. Jacobson (Luther Seminary), *Bar J. McClure (Brite Divinity School at TCU), Daniel Orlando Álvarez (Pentecostal Theological Seminary).

Second Row: Joseph Gordon (Johnson University), Sunggu Yang (George Fox University), Emily Peck-McClain (Wesley Theological Seminary), Ashley Hicks White (Louisville Presbyterian Theological Seminary), Timone Davis (Loyola University Chicago), Christine J. Hong (Columbia Theological Seminary), Helen Kim (Candler School of Theology – Emory University).

Back Row: *Paul O. Myhre (Wabash Center), Scott Hagley (Pittsburgh Theological Seminary), Jennifer Awes-Freeman (United Theological Seminary of Twin Cities), *Andrea C. White (Union Theological Seminary, NY), *Eduardo C. Fernández (Jesuit School of Theology of Santa Clara University), Jeney Park-Hearn (Seattle University).

*leadership/staff position.



  • First session:
    July 9-14, 2018, Wabash College
  • Second session:
    January 24-27, 2019, Corpus Christi, Texas
  • Third session:
    June 17-22, 2019, Wabash College

Leadership Team

  • Rolf A. Jacobson, Director, Luther Seminary
  • Barbara J. McClure, Brite Divinity School
  • Andrea C. White, Union Theological Seminary-NYC
  • Eduardo C. Fernandez, Jesuit School of Theology, Santa Clara University
  • Paul O. Myhre, Associate Director, Wabash Center

For More Information, Please Contact:
Paul Myhre, Associate Director
Wabash Center
301 West Wabash Ave.
Crawfordsville, IN 47933


Wabash Center