2018-19 Early Career Workshop

Workshop for Early Career Religion Faculty at Colleges and Universities

This workshop will gather 14 early career faculty from diverse scholarly specializations and institutional contexts for a week in each of two successive summers and a weekend winter retreat.  As a community of committed and skilled teachers, we will explore together critical issues in teaching and learning such as:

  • Designing strategies for effective teaching, assignments, and assessment within one’s institutional context.
  • Navigating the intersections of identities—e.g., race, class, gender, sexuality, ability, age, religious and political affiliations—in the classroom
  • Managing the competing demands of teaching, scholarship, service, and personal life
  • Mapping career growth such as tenure and alternate academic tracks

The workshop balances plenary sessions with small group discussions, individual and collaborative work, and access to the Wabash Center teaching resources, as well as structured and unstructured social time.


  • To create an environment for collaboration and conversation around teaching and learning 
  • To cultivate reflective practices as teachers and learners
  • To examine the politics and pressures of teaching and learning in higher education
  • To develop intentional and sustainable practices in professional and personal life

Honorarium and Fellowship

Participants will receive an honorarium of $3400 for full participation in the three workshop sessions, plus local expenses and travel. In addition, participants are eligible to apply for a $5000 workshop fellowship for work on a teaching project during the following academic year (2019-20).


Rose Aslan, California Lutheran University
Patton Burchett, College of William and Mary
Manuela Ceballos, University of Tennessee
Courtney Dorroll, Wofford College
Abhishek Ghosh, Grand Valley State University
Darrius Hills, Morgan State University
Sonya Maria Johnson, Beloit College
Jennifer Kaalund, Iona College
Max Mueller, University of Nebraska – Lincoln
Melissa Pagán, Mount St. Mary’s
Martha Roberts, Denison University
Gerardo Rodríguez, St. Norbert College
Dheepa Sundaram, College of Wooster
Merin Shobhana Xavier, Ithaca College


  • First session:
    July 16-21, 2018, Wabash College
  • Second session:
    January 10-13, 2019. Corpus Christi, Texas
  • Third session:
    June 24-29, 2019, Wabash College

Leadership Team

  • Joanne Maguire Robinson, Director, University of North Carolina-Charlotte
  • Martin Nguyen, Fairfield University 
  • Richard S. Ascough, Queen’s University
  • Jacqueline M. Hidalgo, Williams College
  • Mary T. Stimming, Associate Director, Wabash Center

Important Information

For More Information, Please Contact:
Mary Stimming, Associate Director
Wabash Center
301 West Wabash Ave.
Crawfordsville, IN 47933