2019-20 Early Career Workshop

Workshop for Early Career Theological School Faculty 


Do you wonder about teaching and the teaching life in theological education? In what ways would a yearlong conversation about teaching and learning ground your vocational identity? This workshop is a collaborative peer opportunity to develop pedagogical skills, reflect on teaching identity, learn in community, and navigate institutional dynamics.

The workshop will gather 14 faculty members for a week in two successive summers at Wabash College, and a weekend winter retreat in Corpus Christi, Texas. There will be a balance of plenary sessions, small group discussions, workshop sessions, structured and unstructured social time, and time for relaxation, exercise, meditation, discovery, laughter, and lots of good food and drink.


  • First session:
    July 15-20, 2019, Wabash College
  • Second session:
    January 23-26, 2020, Corpus Christi, Texas
  • Third session:
    June 8-13, 2020, Wabash College

Leadership Team

  • Joretta Marshall (Director)
    Brite Divinity School
  • Carlos Cardoza-Orlandi
    Baylor University
  • Stephanie Crumpton
    McCormick Theological Seminary
  • G. Brooke Lester
    Garrett-Evangelical Theological School
  • Paul Myhre
    Wabash Center

Application Period Closed

Workshop Goals

  • Explore and develop holistic dimensions of the teaching life
  • Imagine and discern contours of agency in a teaching identity
  • Identify and strategically navigate transitions in the vocation of a full-time scholar and teacher
  • Become aware of the power of embodiment in teaching
  • Develop a stronger self-reflexive practice


  • 2-5 years of teaching in a tenure-track, contingency, or continuing position,
  • Teaching in an accredited seminary or theological school in the United States, Puerto Rico, or Canada
  • Doctoral degree completed by January 1, 2019
  • Tenure decision (if applicable) no earlier than Spring 2020
  • Institutional support to participate fully in sessions and to complete teaching fellowship project in following year.

Honorarium and Fellowship

Participants will receive an honorarium of $3,500 for full participation in the three workshop sessions, plus local expenses and travel. In addition, participants are eligible to apply for a $5,000 workshop fellowship for work on a teaching project during the following academic year (2020-21).


Front Row: *G. Brooke Lester (Garrett-Evangelical Theological School), Melva Sampson (Wake Forest University Divinity School), *Joretta Marshall (Brite Divinity School), Richard Voelz (Union Presbyterian Seminary), Maureen Day (Franciscan School of Theology).

Middle Row: Sarah Wolf (Jewish Theological Seminary of America), Elaine Nogueira-Godsey (Methodist Theological School in Ohio), Lisa Cleath (Portland Seminary), Melody Maxwell (Acadia Divinity College), Barbara Fears (Howard University), *Stephanie Crumpton (McCormick Theological Seminary), Melanie Dobson (Lutheran Theological Southern Seminary), Khalia Williams (Candler School of Theology – Emory University), *Paul Myhre (Wabash Center).

Back Row: *Carlos Cardoza-Orlandi (Baylor University), James Estes (Wesley Theological Seminary), Rebecca Copeland (Boston University School of Theology), Annie Lockhart-Gilroy (Phillips Theological Seminary), Ben Sanders (Eden Theological Seminary).


Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!