Salon 3 – Tending to the Body and Soul

Salon 3 – Tending to the Body and Soul
of Early Career Theological School Educators

Leadership Team

Katherine Turpin, Iliff School of Theology
Eric Barreto, Princeton Theological Seminary
Paul Myhre, Wabash Center

Participants

Paul Houston Blankenship, Seattle University
Peter Capretto, Phillips Theological Seminary
Jacob J. Erickson, Trinity College, Dublin
Sarah F. Farmer, Indiana Wesleyan University
Joseph K. Gordon, Johnson University – Knoxville
Christy Lang Hearlson, Villanova University
Kristina Lizardy-Hajbi, Iliff School of Theology
Lakisha R. Lockhart, Chicago Theological Seminary
Ekaterina Lomperis, George Fox University
Allison L. Norton, Hartford Seminary
Danielle Tumminio Hansen, Seminary of the Southwest
Laine Christine Walters Young, Vanderbilt University
Kristin J. Wendland, Wartburg College
Danny Yencich, Emmanuel Christian Seminary at Milligan

Description

Our group experience will be focused on tending to the body and soul of the teacher. Built around the metaphor of the teaching life as a dinner feast, we will explore what the abundance of the feast looks like in the midst of a pandemic and the attendant institutional crises theological education is facing. How do we nurture the teaching life, vocation, and wholeness of the theological educator in this moment? How do we maintain the theological educator’s commitments to justice and equity in the midst of narratives of loss and scarcity? How do we counteract the instinct to preserve institutions both in higher education and the church rather than see them transformed? How do we build communities of pedagogical creativity, mutual care, and gracious belonging among teachers and students alike?

Dates & Times

Meeting for 90 minutes on Tuesdays at 4 PM Eastern/3 PM Central/2PM Mountain/1 PM Pacific

Tuesday, September 22 (4:00-5:30 pm, Eastern)

Tuesday, October 13 (4:00-5:30 pm, Eastern)

Tuesday, November 10 (4:00-5:30 pm, Eastern)

Tuesday, December 15 (4:00-5:30 pm, Eastern)

Tuesday, February 16 (4:00-5:30 pm, Eastern)

Tuesday, March 16 (4:00-5:30 pm, Eastern)

Tuesday, April 27 (4:00-5:30 pm, Eastern)

Final Face-to-Face Meeting – Monday-Wednesday, June 28-30, 2021, Indianapolis, Indiana

Questions about the Salons?
Dr. Paul O. Myhre
Senior Associate Director
myhrep@wabash.edu.

Honorarium

Participants in the Salons will receive an honorarium of $3,000 for full participation in the online Salon meetings and the culminating meeting in Indianapolis on June 28-20, 2021.


Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!