Graduate Program Teaching Initiative

Wabash Center’s Work with Doctoral Programs from 2011 to 2016

The purpose of the Graduate Program Teaching Initiative (GPTI) was to enable doctoral programs to assess their preparation of Ph.D. and Th.D. students for teaching appointments.

The assessment involved conversations with recent alumni/ae to explore the alignment between the preparation they received and the context in which they are currently teaching. 

33 graduate programs were awarded $15,000 grants to host Teaching Initiative Gatherings at their school or at a site in close proximity.

These gatherings involved 8-10 recent alumni/ae (graduated in the last 5 years and in a teaching appointment), the Dean of the School, Graduate Program Director, and 2-3 key faculty members.

The Wabash Center provided each school with a consultant to help them design and lead the 2-day/1 night meeting and a Wabash Center staff person as an observer. The focus of the Teaching Initiative gathering was to explore questions of teaching preparedness with alumni/ae and key parties at the school.

2011 Schools

  • Baylor University
  • Boston University School of Theology
  • Candler School of Theology
Dallas Theological Seminary
  • University of Denver/Iliff School of Theology Joint Program

  • Graduate Theological Union
Jewish Theological Seminary of America
Loyola University Chicago
Marquette University
  • McGill University
  • McMaster University
  • Princeton Theological Seminary
  • Southern Methodist University
  • Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary
Syracuse University
University of Notre Dame

2012 Schools

  • Boston College
Brown University

  • The Catholic University of America

  • Drew University Theological School

  • New Orleans Baptist Theological Seminary

Summative Conferences

Gathering schools that had been awarded GPTI funding that year for peer-to-peer learning

2013-14 Schools

  • Duke Divinity School

  • Duke University

  • Garrett-Evangelical Theological Seminary
Hebrew Union College

  • Indiana University – Bloomington

  • Trinity Evangelical Divinity School

  • University of Chicago Divinity School

  • University of North Carolina – Chapel Hill
University of Ottawa

2015-16 Schools

Claremont School of Theology

  • Southern Baptist Theological Seminary
  • University of Virginia


  • Eugene Gallagher, Connecticut College

  • Willie Jennings, Duke Divinity School
Patricia Killen, Gonzaga University

  • Joretta Marshall, Brite Divinity School
Robert Pazmiño, Andover Newton Theological School

  • Frank Yamada, McCormick Seminary
Wabash Center